Oh look, it’s a new year.

Oh look, Caitlin never updates her blog.

It never fails: It seems like every year I vow to write more, to eat better, to whatever whatever whatever. Every year, I think “This will be the year when I finally. . .”

Not this year. This is not to say that I don’t have goals for 2015. But I am not going to stress myself out over resolutions I do or do not ultimately keep simply because the calendar has rolled over another year.

While I ultimately *do* hope to write more this year, I need to work on a set of writing-related goals and strategies. I was recently reading an article about the sexual practices of happy couples, and the premise was basically “If you wait until you’re in the mood, you’re never going to have sex.” But, can’t you just substitute sex for whatever it is you wait until you’re in the mood for it? Things like:

  • Eating vegetables.
  • Posting on your blog/writing
  • Going to the gym
  • Knitting a blanket

I think so, yes. And I think the idea of planning rather than waiting for spontaneous excitement is probably a good step in accomplishing whatever it is one wants to accomplish. So, in 2015, I suppose my goal is to plan my life better, a goal that applies to a lot of different facets and activities and that should, I hope, lesson the amount of stress and anxiety that occurs on a semi-regular basis when one (like myself) forgets to plan important things or things that would be helpful to hir general well-being.

But the new year is also an opportunity for introspection and reflection (two of my favorite things!). When I look back on 2014, I have to admit, it was a pretty good year: took an awesome vacation to Colorado, got a full-time job with benefits and stuff, and (re)met a pretty awesome guy. I also made some stellar knit items and did quite a bit of cooking, even though my blog doesn’t reflect that. And, of course, I created a lot of great memories with all of my wonderful friends. If 2015 is even half as awesome as 2014, it will be a good year.

I’m off to plan to make plans (that’s how it works, right?) with the goal of also being flexible when things don’t work out exactly as planned.

