I love conferences. I always end up feeling so invigorated after attending. This was especially so after the 2014 Conference on College Composition and Communication in Indianapolis.

I only attended on Thursday and Friday, but it was definitely worth it. I do wish I had stayed for today’s sessions, especially since it was so close, but poor planning prevented that. At any rate, I still learned a lot, have a lot of things on my mind, and feel very excited about my future academic and pedagogic decisions.

Adam Banks was such a great leader/speaker/introducer: funny, poetic, engaging.

I was especially inspired by both Gail Hawisher and Cynthia Selfe’s Exemplar Award speech and Howard Tinberg’s Chair’s Address. Hawisher and Selfe’s discussion of feminism, the value of collaboration, and being trailblazers in the field got me a little emotional, even.

After that, Tinberg got me thinking about what we teach, about Indiana’s literate history, and about engaging writers at all levels with a diverse set of experiences where they are, not where we want them to be.

 

I’m thinking about reframing my ENG 105 courses (in research) around Indiana State University’s history next time I teach. Isn’t it important that we understand who all of those buildings are named for? I know Paul Dreiser, author of Sister Carrie, but that’s about it.

I was pretty active on Twitter during the first day. In the first couple of hours, I used up 50% of my phone battery. Whoops!

My friends Kathleen Coffey, Jon Bradshaw, and Erin Brock getting ready to present in the first concurrent session.

Given how engaged I was with my phone at this exact moment, I’d say this is probably true. In fact, I let a friend use my phone recently, and my first response was “I don’t feel whole right now!”

Elsewhere at CCCC land, people were tweeting about my mentor’s presentation:

It’s cool to see someone talking about him, and I really wish I could have gone to his session, but c’est la vie. And then Bradshaw made a point that I know I personally forget about

 

And Brock had me thinking about making research relatable for students, especially by helping them find “tangible participation” from their audiences. Now I’m thinking about how petitions might fit into my own courses. This seems especially pertinent with the types of students I’ve been working with. Shouldn’t I be trying to help them access their civic responsibility? So, Day 1 was a roaring success, followed by a walk through the Canal (why didn’t I take photos of that?!), the wonderful Bedford Party at the Indiana State Museum, and chatting/catching up/being pumped up by my friends and colleagues at the Miami Party. Day Two consisted of a LOT more sessions, but significantly fewer tweets. What happened? I don’t actually know.

This made the cut. It was clearly very important for me to remember.

Then I got excited about seeing all of my favorite people talking about Threshold Concepts. I’ve seen them present on this at every CCCC I’ve attended!

 

And I’ll leave us with this, my last tweet of CCCC: