This week’s Top Ten Tuesday is pretty fun: what popular authors have you never read? This is the first time in a while that I’ve participated in the weekly meme from The Broke and the Bookish.

It’s hard for me to think of authors that I haven’t read. My brain immediately jumped to those authors who I have limited familiarity with (Jane Austen, anyone?). So I went to this list of Popular Authors on Goodreads.

a0b8d-toptentuesday

So here we have it: Ten Authors I’ve Never Read.

1. James Patterson. My dad actually really likes him, even though he churns out work, has weird commercials, and only co-writes some of his novels. I don’t know that I’ll ever pick up something he’s written. Maybe they make for good beach reads?

2. Nicholas Sparks. People are actually always really surprised by this. I just don’t have any desire to read him. I think I watched A Walk to Remember, but I can’t seem to remember if I watched the entire thing. I try to avoid things that make me feel too much. Sometimes, even the commercials for Nicholas Sparks movies make me feel too emotional.

3. Cassandra Clare. I feel like her books are getting a lot of hype lately, and I think I might enjoy them.

4. Rick Riordan. Sh! Don’t tell my mom! She loves The Lightning Thief series and has been trying to get me to read them for five or six years. I love mythology, so maybe I will give them a try eventually. But she made the mistake of saying I’d like them because I like Harry Potter, and that’s one of the best ways to make me dislike something.

5. John Green. This one makes me really sad, actually. I’ve started two of his books: Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines. I really wanted to read Paper Towns, but I’ve not picked it up. I have The Fault in Our Stars on my Kindle, but I’m not ready for those emotions quite yet. I think I will really enjoy his work once I get into it, but part of it is finding the time.

6. Jodi Picoult. I had a friend in undergrad who really, really liked Picoult, and my dad has enjoyed a few of her books. Mom and Dad tried to make me watch My Sister’s Keeper, but I gave that a big N-O.

7. Veronica Roth. With the movie release, Divergent is getting a lot of attention right now. I think I might like these books, but I don’t know. A friend of mine was just telling me about her struggles to finish Allegiant, and if she can’t get through it, I doubt I would be able to either.

8. E.L. James. I’m putting her on here because I was just talking about her this weekend. I have absolutely zero desire to read the 50 Shades series other than being able to fully back up my argument that the books suck with evidence from them. This is also why I read Twilight.

9. Philip K. Dick. Another one people are surprised to hear. I really like SF, but I’ve not read anything by him. And I don’t think I could even name anything he’s written off the top of my head. Whoops.

10. J.R.R. Tolkien. Yeah, yeah. I haven’t read any of those books and I haven’t seen any of those movies and I don’t really have any desire to and please don’t tell me all the reasons why you think I should love them.

