This has been an unusually productive week/end. I am keeping up with my grading in manageable chunks and doing things that keep me feeling accomplished so that I’m not just wasting time.

My productivity really started on Thursday, when my mom and I spent the day at the coffee shop working. I got a lot of papers graded, and it was nice to be out of the house.

On Friday, I kept grading grading grading (because, of course I did) and ended up having an impromptu knitting night with one of my BFFs. We had planned to make ear warmers, but instead she showed me a great pattern for a dish cloth that she uses. I need to practice with the smaller needles, and I thought it would be a good idea to making something more practical and quick, rather than just knitting a bunch of scarves all the time.

It’s a pretty simple pattern that just requires some yarning over and knitting together to make. I really like the way the design turned out with this yarn (which is I Love This Cotton!).

UntitledI am pretty impressed with myself, if we’re being honest. You can find the pattern at Major Knitter.

On Saturday, my mom and I went to run a few errands, and we somehow ended up at Staples.

Let me just say, I love me some office supplies.

I have been telling my mom how much I love the Staples binders for months. I seriously refuse to use any other binder. So we went to Staples so Mom could get a couple for her classroom.

I ended up buying a bunch of supplies to design my own planner.

Untitled

I got to play with this paper cutter to make my pages 8.5 x 5.5. This was after the long process of me realizing I didn’t need special paper because I could just cut regular letter size paper in half.

I’m most excited because this planner has everything that I want. I’m so particular about them, and I have the worst time finding one that I like. As you can see in the photo above, I need a Month-At-A-Glance page.

UntitledI also like to have time slots and a lot of space for writing for individual days.

It took a long time to get the template design right and to set up the three hole punch to do the pages in the right spot, but I’m pretty satisfied. I printed enough pages for the rest of February, so if I don’t like them, I’ll just return to my publisher file and update it however I want.

Oh, and, I got to use my favorite font — Bookman Old Style! That’s enough to call this planner a “win.”

 

