Well, I think I’ve started 2014 off well enough. For the past two days, I’ve been binge-watching Battlestar Galactica.

This is really no easy task. I had seen the first two episodes a couple of times (the ones that ran as a miniseries back in 2003), but I never went beyond them because I always lamented what a time commitment it was (is). But apparently all bets are off for 2014 because I have finished the entire first season (15 episodes!) in two days.

I already have a lot of thoughts/feelings about the show, which you might have noticed if you also follow me on twitter. (So, sorry twitter followers that aren’t interested in BG). Here are some of the highlights (I suppose) of my last two days of binge-tv-watching.

As you can see, I’m very invested in my television show viewing. When I finished the season one finale, I was all kinds of floored. But also very glad that I can watch the next episode as soon as I want and I don’t have to wait for it.

But I am already thinking about all of the themes present in BG that would be worth discussing on an intellectual level. One of the biggest ones I’ve noticed is religion, specifically considering the differences in the polytheistic and monotheistic cultures of the humans and the cylons, respectively. Of course, there’s also the ideas of terrorism, genocide, and probably some population anxiety contributing to many of the plot points. There’s also the question of essentialism, and whether you can be something simply by trying to be it (which I would like to relate, at some point in the future, to the idea of mushfake and discourse communities).

Are there any other Battlestar Galactica fans? What are your thoughts on the things that kept (or keep) you interested?

