Wow. I can’t believe 2013 is over (fewer than 12 hours left!) and 2014 is about to begin.

This year has been a little all over the place: lots of changes, lots of ups and downs.

But we’ll save that post for later. Instead, here are the Top Nine* Books I Read in 2013.

a0b8d-toptentuesday

 

If you aren’t familiar with Top Ten Tuesday, check out the weekly book meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish by clicking on the image above.

*I apparently only read nine “fun” books this year. I could easily make it ten by including more scholarly books, but I don’t want to.

9. Catching Fire by Suzanne CollinsCatching Fire was my least favorite book of the trilogy. I ended up liking the movie adaptation a lot better (weird, I know). I just didn’t really feel like anything new happened.

8. The Ladies of Grace Adieu by Susanna Clarke. A great collection of short stories that’s easy to read. It’s nice for when you want to do some fun reading but don’t have a lot of time for reading. My favorite was the tale set in the world of Stardust by Neil Gaiman.

7. Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke. I really, really enjoyed this book when I finally got the time to read it. It took several months to get through, but it was definitely worth it. See more here.

6. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins. Mockingjay is an appropriate and exciting ending to the Hunger Games trilogy.

5. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield. I got this on a whim after reading about an adaptation that will feature Sophie Turner and, incidentally, star one of my favorite actors, Olivia Coleman. The book was wonderfully engaging, creepy, and super relatable.

4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. I finally got around to reading the trilogy this year, and I liked it a lot.

3. Joyland by Stephen King. Dad never leads me astray. You can read my full thoughts about it here.

2. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith. I read someone’s review somewhere, recently, that said they thought this book would take off even if it hadn’t “slipped” that it was actually JK Rowling doing the writing, and I completely agree. An astute reader would have probably made the connection, too, if they’d read Casual Vacancy because the structure, pacing, and style are very similar. I actually like I enjoyed this one a bit more than A Casual Vacancy, if only because I liked the mystery elements, Strike & Robin’s individual stories, and the friendship they develop.

1. MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood. Is there any question that this would be at my number one? You can see more about why this is my top book of 2013 here.

What was your favorite book of 2013?

