Friday Favorites

I grew up on the Food Network, and it’s still one of my favorite channels to tune into when I’m watching TV. Last week, I was fighting the Halloween Plague of Doom, so I spent more time than usual tuned into the Food Network. Even though I do less cooking now than I did, say, six months ago, I still do a lot of daydreaming about dinner parties and cooking up delicious meals. This week for Friday Favorites, here are my five favorite Food Network chefs.

5. Ina Garten

Growing up, I almost always changed the channel when The Barefoot Contessa came on. But lately, Ina Garten has really grown on me. I don’t always fall in love with the recipes she makes, or even want to try them (liver dip? no thank you!), but I do always learn something fascinating while watching her cook. This week, it was using a spoon to keep wet ingredients from mixing in her Baked Blintzes with Fresh Blueberry Sauce.

4. Anne Burrell

Anne Burrell is a new chef on my list. I enjoy watching her on Chef Wanted, but I really like watching her cook on Secrets of a Restaurant Chef. She’s super fun, and I love that she called everything “cute.” Yes, Anne, the shortcakes in your Apricot-Nectarine Shortcake are really cute.

3. Ree Drummond

Some days I find Ree Drummond’s voice a little too saccharine, but in general I am a fan. There’s something very relatable about her, and I often feel like I would actually want to cook the things she makes, like these cream-filled cupcakes that sound a little like heaven.

2. Giada De Laurentiis

Giada is my life-long favorite chef. I have always, always, always loved her. I really dislike fish, but I watched her make these Parmesan Fish Sticks once. Two months later, I am still thinking about them. Maybe one day I will even get around to cooking them. . .

1. Trisha Yearwood

I think, deep-down, I am a country girl at heart (sh! don’t tell anyone!). I love that she always has a visitor in the kitchen to help cook, and Trisha just seems like someone I would love to know. And, whenever I watch her show, I’m left feeling like I could actually make whatever recipe she’s making, from her Chicken Pie to her Magic Lemon Meringue Pie.

Who are your favorite Food Network chefs?

