As you will see on this week’s Friday Favorites, I love love love the Food Network. If I’m watching TV, actively or not, it’s probably on the Food Network. But this obsession with watching these various cooking shows is that I find myself craving a snack, whether I’m really hungry or not.

Monday of this week was a prime example of this. I had to stop by Kroger on my way home to pick up some high-fiber, low-glycemic index pasta. Just being in the grocery store made me hungry. And of course, I ended up in the natural/organic/supposed-to-be-better-for-you-but-probably-really-isn’t food aisle, anxiously hunting for my favorite Kettle Brand chips: Spicy Thai.

They are not to be found.

Instead, I bought some White Cheddar Cheetos (yuuuum!) and a bag of barbecue PopChips because apparently I cannot buy only one bag of chips at a time.

When I got home, I thought I can take an hour or so to relax, have a snack, and then get started on NaNoWriMo for the day.

In case you were wondering, this isn’t wait happened. I ended up watching the Food Network for about four hours and then cooking a cream-cheese-crust pizza with my mom and my brother’s girlfriend.

But as inevitably happens, I spent that whole time I was watching Food Network craving some delicious homemade snacks. Instead I ate over half my bag of PopChips. This did not make me happy. At over $3 and about 3 servings per bag, I was disappointed in myself. Not because I was eating too much (even eating the whole bag of PopChips wouldn’t have killed my calorie intake for the day, but it wouldn’t have been good for me, either) but because I felt like I was wasting money. I felt deceived by my PopChips.

They were delicious, to be certain. I like the subtle crunch they have, in contrast to the typical crunch of regular chips or the crisper texture and bite of my favorite, kettle cooked chips. But I just couldn’t stop eating them. Even after eating half the bag, I still felt like I was starving.

This is the worst kind of snacking.

In hindsight, I’m not sure if I was hungry because the PopChips didn’t fill me up or because I was continuing to watch celebrity chefs cook 3-4 delicious food items every half hour. And that effect is only magnified when competitive shows like Chopped or Cutthroat Kitchen come on.

So much cooking, so much delicious food I could never make for myself.

Even though I’m eating lunch, I’m finding myself salivating over the idea of a snack. Great.

