Oh, Saturday. It is never, ever, ever as productive as I plan for it to be. Today I was actually way more productive this morning than this afternoon.

I graded nince papers before it was even noon!

For anyone else who teaches, you know that grading is really the worst thing ever invented. Sometimes grading papers makes me feel physically ill. I have to give myself incentives and break it down into smaller batches. Usually I shoot to grade 4-5 at a time, but this morning I sat down at my desk and graded nine papers straight. It felt good. I probably should have keep going and just graded the other seven that I have left, but I foolishly decided to save them for later.

Today was a good day, but I did not do as much writing as I would like. Instead I went to the store with my parents and helped make dinner. Dad deep fried some chicken this evening, so I made homemade noodles. If you have never made noodles from scratch, this is not necessarily a demanding process but it does require a lot of time.

Especially because we do not have a noodle roller or any really easy way to cut them. It’s just me, the rolling pin, and the pizza cutter. But I will post more about the noodles tomorrow because I took lots of pictures (woot!) of me using my mom’s 80’s Oster combo blender/mixer.

I did start writing a new character today, and I even added in a dream/flashback. I’m not entirely sure yet which it is, but either way it doesn’t quite matter. It’s a jarring moment where she relieves a part of an experience that is currently haunting her. This character is one who has the most negative effects from her experiences with reality TV, so I think it’s probably good to see some of what happened even though it doesn’t take place in real time in the novel. I think she’s going to be a much cooler character than I initially gave her credit for.

It wasn’t a total waste, though. I still managed to write 3,499 words to put my total, after Day 2, at 9,850. I like seeing my “Words Per Day to Finish On Time” slowing decrease. If you wrote the same amount every day in November, you would need to write 1,667 to finish on time. Currently, I need to write 1,385 for the next 28 days. That almost 300-word difference doesn’t look like much, but it’s a small comfort early in the month.

This is my first time doing NaNo, and I’m still feeling pretty good about it! Other NaNos, how are you doing?

NaBloPoMo November 2013

