Well, I’m taking a quick break to make my first official NaNoWriMo post. So far, things are going very well. I got home from work around 2 this afternoon, made myself a delicious snack, and then started writing.

Much to my surprise, it has only been about two hours. . .but I am 3,878 words into my novel.

nano day 1
That green bar means I have hit the daily goal! Woot!

I’m trying to let that sink in. It’s been a long time since I did any fiction writing, and to sit down and knock out almost 4,000 words in about two hours kind of surprises me. Is there probably a lot of fluff and filler? Sure. But for Day 1 and Draft 1, I’d say this is going pretty well. I can only hope that I can keep up that progress and stamina for the rest of the semester. It tells me that if I can only devote a couple of hours to actual writing each day, I can absolutely still meet the 50,000 words by the end of the month.

That’s not the only surprising thing about my writing today, either. I had initially planned to begin with the character I feel like I know the most, Bryleigh. She is a troubled college student of Iranian-American descent, who was adopted by her stepfather when she was five. I have spent a lot of time over the past month thinking about her character in particular, much more so than any of the other four perspective characters, and this morning I was running through my head some ideas for which chapter of hers I would begin with when I got home.

Then, as I drove down the highway after picking up my dry cleaning today, it hit me that I needed to begin with Danielle, a 40-year-old single mom and doctoral student in psychology. Maybe it was the mindset after teaching all day and then “feeling grown up” because I had “pick up dry cleaning” on my to-do list. Maybe it was something else entirely. I don’t know the cause, really. But I felt like I was ready to crawl into Danielle’s skin and spend some time with her and her son, Ratford (yes. really).

I guess it worked out so far. Now. . .back to the noveling I go! 🙂

NaBloPoMo November 2013

