NaNo starts in less than 48 hours and what am I doing?

Nothing.

It’s sadly not for lack of trying. I’m having the absolute worst time focusing on anything right now. This is really all you need to know to understand how I am feeling right now:
10.30.13

 

Is there anything worse? I’ve spent all day Monday and today meeting with students about their research projects. I spent all day yesterday in bed, hoping that it would make me feel better. It did not. I am now back in bed, under a pile of blankets, including a heated one.

This does not bode well for productivity.

Nor does the fact that I almost lost all of my planning when I had to uninstall and reinstall the Scrivener NaNo trial.

I wanted to spend this evening grading a few papers and making my characters on The Sims, something I had been planning to do all month, but I kind of got caught up in playing the new Island Paradise expansion pack.

So far, my NaNoWriMo experience is not looking too promising unless my productivity and health levels improve soon. I did, however, enjoy reading the first NaNo Prep Talk of the year! I will admit I am not familiar with Rainbow Rowell, but I am definitely going to have to check her out. Her novel Fangirl was a NaNo 2011 success. Her resonating words of advice?

That 50,000-word pile I made wasn’t a mess at all. It’s some of the bravest writing I’ve ever done, and it includes my all-time favorite character, a guy I think I would’ve second-guessed to death under normal circumstances. NaNoWriMo helped me push past so many of my doubts and insecurities and bad habits. And I think that’s partly why I love Fangirl so much now—because I remember how swept away I felt when I was writing it.”

Thanks, Rainbow Rowell. Here’s hoping I see you later with my 50,000-word pile.

