Friday Favorites

Today I’m starting a new weekly feature here at Cooking and Composition: Friday Favorites. This week I’m starting with my five favorite Game of Thrones characters. After reading some other Top Ten Tuesday posts this week, I was left thinking about all of the great characters in GoT that I can’t get enough of.

343/365 - Game of Thrones
Game of Thrones by Loimere, on Flickr

Now that I’ve finished all of the novels that are out, I’m surprised at how much my favorites have shifted over the series. Sure, I like almost all of the characters well enough, but there are a few that I really, really hate and a few who I’ve definitely changed my opinion of over the pages. But I’m sure my favorites align with quite a few other readers, and that wouldn’t leave this blog with anything fun to say about any of them.

Instead, I’d like to take a minute (just sit right there) to consider my five favorite potentially underrated characters. If you haven’t finished all of the ASoIaF series, do not read any more! You will be disappointed by spoilers. Sorry!

5. Myrcella Baratheon

I feel like we still don’t know as much as we need to about Princess Myrcella. However, I think she is one character who is going to become a bit more influential throughout the rest of the series (or maybe I just hope this?). I think she is a sweet and brave girl, and, at her young age, she has already been through some tense situations that would have really brought her siblings down. She is the only one of Cersei’s children that even really stands a chance at making someone of herself.

4. Gilly

I will admit that I don’t always like Gilly. Sometimes I find her a little whiny. However, I think she has taken a lot of risks in order to survive her circumstances as one of Craster’s daughter-wives. She has endured a quite a bit of hardship in her short life, especially surrounding her soon and the Wildling Prince. I’m very curious to see what her story brings.

3. Ser Davos

Even though Ser Davos Seaworth is a major character, I feel like he is a bit underrated still. Perhaps I am wrong, but I don’t think that many people have strong feelings about him, and he seems like he’s just lucky to still be alive. But I love him because he is learning to read. The scenes in the show with Shireen bringing him books are touching, but his strength and resolve learning to read in the book series is even better.

2. Hot Pie

Yeah, I know Hot Pie isn’t even that great of a character. He’s a little bit flat and whiny, to boot. But I always found Hot Pie a little amusing, and I love the interactions he has with Arya. I doubt we will hear much more about Hot Pie, but I like that he found something he loved to do.

1. Lyanna Stark

Maybe this one is cheating a little bit because Lyanna is not technically a character we ever really get to see in the novel. She is dead before the books begin, but it is her life and death that put the plots into motion. I can’t help but think her influence on the characters and the plot aren’t quite finished yet. I particularly am interested in her (potential) relationship to Jon Snow, given his recent “death.”

