I am super intrigued by The Broke and The Bookish‘s weekly feature, Top Ten Tuesday, wherein people make lists about books. What could be better than that? I wanted to start participating last week, but I was stumped by the prompt: Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders. What a challenge, especially considering I’m not sure I’ve actually completed 10 book series. . .or at least ten where I felt the same way about the endings.

So I passed and am jumping in now, with this list on Top Ten Books I was Forced To Read. This is actually pretty easy because I have done a lot of reading through school, and I usually ended up liking what we read.

10. Ragtime by E.L. Doctorow

9. Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut

8. The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

7. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld

6. The Stand by Stephen King

5. Brave New World by Aldous Huxley

4. City of Thieves by David Benioff

3. A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

2. The Crying of Lot 49 by Thomas Pynchon

And Number 1 is. . .

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood

 

Okay, so I actually discovered that this was harder to do than I expected. Most of the books that I really love are books that I read because of one of the books I was forced to read. Or sometimes I really did find really cool books on my own, without any body else’s prompting! Who knew?

