Being in graduate school means you don’t get a lot of time for writing just for fun. Of course, some of the writing you do in graduate school begin to feel fun. I had a great time, overall, writing a lot of my papers and my thesis. But that kind of enjoyable writing does not necessarily provide the same outlet as doing creative writing.

Growing up, I was a girl who really never stopped writing. My mom still has poems I wrote as a young kid, including a great one about fall called “Sweater Weather.”

Now that such sweater weather has rolled around again, and I am adjusting to not being a student anymore, I am looking forward to get back into doing less academic, scholarly writing and more “creative” writing.

With NaNoWriMo right around the corner, I’ve decided that this year I will use the 30 days of November to get back into the swing of such creative writing. I tried to participate a couple of years ago, but I never found the time or really made it a priority. It is hard to write 50,000 words in one month without even trying. This year, I would like to not only participate, but succeed! (And a key part of succeeding is actually beginning.) I have several friends that have participated in past years, and I have seen the sense of accomplishment they have when they finish successfully. So I’m writing this post to make it official:

NaNo2013!
Click the banner to check out my NaNo profile!

I’m participating in NaNoWriMo 2013!

The unfortunate thing is that I am not yet 100 percent certain what I want my novel to be about. When I have chatted with friends about participating, that is usually the first question they ask: “What’s your novel about?”

How do you write a novel in 30 days when you don’t know what it’s about?

Luckily, I still have over half a month to figure out where I want my 30-day writing journey to take me. And, even if I fail to reach 50,000 words, I will hopefully be more comfortable in my fiction-writing self.

Do you NaNo? Are you going to NaNo in 2013? Do you have any advice for other NaNo participants?

