october is coming

I’m having a hard time dealing with tomorrow being the last day of September. It seems like this year has completely flown by. Seriously. Wasn’t it just May? And I was gearing up for my thesis defense?

No?

But here we are. I am generally very excited about October. This year is no different. I am thrilled to see the leaves changing colors, to smell the air crisping up, to feel the cool breeze each morning. But this October brings something special.

This October, I turn 25.

Now. I know that 25 is not so bad. I am excited about my birthday and all the lovely things that come with it, from the Covered Bridge Festival to hot apple cider to crunching leaves with every step in the out-of-doors.

Untitled

The leaves are already starting to change, making walking across campus and driving across Indiana much more exciting. Of course, the changing of the leaves means that eventually everything will be grey, grey, grey. But until then, I will relish the changing of the seasons.

I’m not so much struggling with turning 25; I’m more struggling with being in a temporary teaching position and being unsure with what I want to do with my future. There are definitely things that I love about teaching at a university, especially my junior-level course where I’m getting to teach with discourse community and Writing-about-Writing theories. However, there is little job security, especially without a PhD, and I’m not sure that I’m ready to make the PhD commitment anytime soon–even if so many other people feel confident that I should.

So as 25 creeps closer (only 16 more days!), I find myself thinking less about the last 25 years (which have certainly seen their share of excitement) and thinking more about the next 25, what I will be doing, and how I will get there. And somehow, I haven’t even thought about how I will celebrate this milestone.

