Friday Favorites: Women of TV

Okay, I’ve been slacking a little big on this Friday Favorites feature I claimed I was going to do. But it’s back! And maybe I’ll be better about it in 2014.

Friday Favorites

I’m feeling a little nostalgic. The weather is snowy and bad, I’ve been binge-watching Battlestar Galactica for two days (and would have done that today if my mom hadn’t lured me out of the house with promises of lunch and coffee), and I can’t believe I didn’t get Karen Walker on the “Which Character from Will & Grace Are You?” Quiz.

Karen is one of my favorite TV characters of all time. At first, I wanted to do a post on some of my favorite Karen Walker quotes, but, let’s be honest: that’d be really challenging to do. Especially because there are so many wonderful Karen quotes to choose from.

Instead, I started thinking about some of my favorite TV show characters. These aren’t necessarily all great characters. Just the ones that I really love, that make it worth watching a television show. Some of these are old, some of these are new. But there are my favorite women characters of TV.

Warning: Some mild language below the jump!

5. Carla Tortelli, Cheers

Carla

Carla has some really good zingers, which is enough to get her on my list. She’s funny and spunky, and I like that she was both a hardened woman and a romantic. One my favorite episodes is when she buys a new house that is claimed to be haunted. Wonderful!

4. Diane Chambers, Cheers

Diane Chambers

Growing up, I found Diane so relatable. (Okay, I probably still would.) She’s ambitious, romantic, a little bit weird. She has big dreams. I really loved Diane, and I enjoy Cheers so much more when she is on it. Once she left, it just isn’t the same.

3. Karen Walker, Will and Grace

Karen Walker

There are few characters I love as much as I love Karen. She and Jack made Will and Grace. Without the two of them, I don’t think the show would have been the same. Karen is pretty horrible, to be sure, but she’s funny, she’s proud of who she is, and she really rocks her personality.

2. Selina Meyer, Veep

Selina Meyer

The most recent character on this list, Selina does not even remotely surprise me. I think she’s wonderful. She’s a little spacey but well-intentioned. She’s trying to take on powerful roles for herself and do the best that she can, and sometimes she lets herself down and sometimes other people totally fail her.

1. Elaine Benes, Seinfeld

Elaine Benes

Maybe it’s not fair to put two Julia Louis-Dreyfus characters on here, but it’s happening. Like Diane, I totally get Elaine. She had personality, great hair, and loads of problems that, if I watched Seinfeld now, I’m sure would be very similar to ones in my own life. And she can dance like nobody’s business. Oh, sure, Jerry, Kramer, and George are all pretty intriguing, as well, but for me, this show was all about Elaine. And, as I side note–I even do this to my face! :)

Who did I miss? What TV women “make” their shows for you?

Talk To Me!

