Miso Soup for One

I seemed to have missed the window for prime soup eating time. I went all fall/winter and barely ate any. But today, when it was 80 degrees, I was really craving some miso soup. Partly because I just made this recipe a few days ago (without photography!) and it was so easy. It took maybe 15 minutes to whip together. That is my kind of supper!

miso cover

I found this recipe on Pinterest (of course), from Steamy Kitchen. Professional recipe developer, food columnist, and food photographer Jaden Hair said, “Though truthfully, the only part of this recipe that I follow is a) the miso soup base and b) cooking the ramen noodles. All other toppings in my Miso Ramen varies each time I make it depending on what’s in my refrigerator, as most times when I’m craving this dish it’s usually pretty darn close to midnight. Or 2am” — this made me feel pretty confident about being able to adapt this recipe to my particular (read: picky) tastes without being worried I would ruin it! The first time I made it, I used spinach, green beans, carrots, mushrooms, and edamame. It was good, but I left out the spinach this time–something about the texture of cooked spinach just didn’t work out for me. (AND this was the first time I had bought frozen spinach. . .I think I will be sticking with fresh from now on.)

But that’s another story for another day.

This recipe was so easy that today I made it from memory. This is saying something, because I don’t even remember how long I need to each up my Healthy Choice meals in the microwave. I have to look every time and then make a guestimate of how long I need to shorten it by! So this recipe really is simple if, after cooking it once, I only had to look up the measurements so that I could reduce them. Here is a handy image of my notes, just because I think it’s cute:

Notice how I originally rote "2/4" and then scribbled it out.

Notice how I originally rote “2/4″ and then scribbled it out.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 TSP dashi granules
  • 1/4 TBS soy sauce
  • 1 TBS miso paste
  • 1 serving dried ramen noodles
  • Veggies of choice

Making Miso for One

Please note that most of these steps overlap.

Step 1. Boil vegetable broth, dashi, and soy sauce. I started with vegetable stock bouillon-like stuff. Because the package said 1/2 cube to 1 cup water, I ended up making 2 cups of vegetable broth. This wasn’t a big deal. However, next time I will probably just buy pre-made veggie broth again. This batch had a much saltier taste, and the only real difference between the first time I made it and now was using vegetable broth bouillon instead of buying a can of broth itself.

Veggie bouillon waiting to boil.

Veggie bouillon waiting to boil.

Broth, dashi, and soy sauce makes a really nice goldy-brown color.

Broth, dashi, and soy sauce makes a really nice goldy-brown color.

Step 2. While your broth boils, cook up your vegetables. Be sure to squeeze out moisture. I used frozen veggies, and, since I’m lazy, I just heated them up in the mug I was planning to eat out of. After cooking the carrots and green beans in the microwave, I added some edamame and mushrooms.

Green beans and carrots, being frozen.

Green beans and carrots, in frozen state

Step 3. Boil noodles. The original recipe says to cook them in a separate pot and then let them hang out in the serving bowls. I didn’t want to have to clean two pans, so I just boiled them in the broth. I should also note that I didn’t bother measuring out what serving was. I just kind of eye-balled it because I love noodles.

I feel pretty fancy for having actual dried ramen noodles instead of the ramen I used to eat as a kid.

I feel pretty fancy for having actual dried ramen noodles instead of the ramen I used to eat as a kid.

Step 4. Stir in Miso Paste. After the broth has boiled/your noodles are all boiled up if you make ‘em in the broth, stir in the miso paste and remove from heat. Apparently, miso can get really grainy if it’s overcooked, so you don’t want it to boil.

It doesn't look that different, does it?

It doesn’t look that different, does it?

Step 5. Prepare bowl. Make sure you have everything in your dish that you want. This mug is certainly not as pretty as the large bowl in the original recipe, but it does the job. Just add in the noodles and broth last.

With mushrooms and edamame added.

With mushrooms and edamame added.

Step 6. Beautiful miso ramen ready to eat! 

Ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

One thought on “Miso Soup for One

Talk To Me!

